February 3rd pictures — another foggy day but no foggy pictures

Maple buds. I've thought this was a Norway maple for a while now, but I'm not sure anymore. When I went looking on the internets for pictures of Norway maple buds, they didn't really match this; they looked sparser, and sharper, and not as colorful.

Edit: In the absence of any better theories, I’m calling this a Norway maple. The broadness of the leaf, the number of lobes, and the shallowness of the sinuses fit; so do the yellow fall foliage, the rounded buds, and the reddish brown twigs. And finally if I remember correctly, the samaras (helicopters) have that 180-degree arrangement that Norway maple has. A story: when I googled “Norway maple bud” I finally saw a picture of the buds that I thought fit my theory, but it turned out to be the picture I just posted. Cruel fate.

Silhouette of big, lurchy maple that produced the buds in the above pictures.

Some kinda grass with some kinda spores?

7 thoughts on “February 3rd pictures — another foggy day but no foggy pictures

  1. Isn’t winter there? Are the trees budding already, or are those there through the winter in preparation for spring?

    Our trees here are dormant until April, with most of the leaves not out until May. Those buds look fairly large and prone to frost damage.

    . . . maybe I should look up Norway’s climate . . .

    • Yep, it’s very much winter, although we’ve had some amazing days of 50°F+ in the last month. I have no idea when maples’ flower buds develop but my guess is sometime in the fall, because I’m pretty sure I’ve noticed them throughout the winter on the tree. They’ve definitely gotten bigger as of late, though. If the buds don’t open early, I think they’ll be fine (they’re a lot less sensitive than the open flowers themselves), but we’ll see.

  2. Just stumbled across this… thought I’d let you know that that tree is definitely not a Norway. Norway Maples have single, opposite buds that are purple in colour. Pretty sure this is a Red Maple. The clustered buds, and description of the leaf fit the description of a red maple better.

Leave a Reply

