A frozen stream

IMG_3726

These pictures were taken yesterday in the woods behind the house. There are many exciting stories I could tell about the things I had to go through to take them, like crawling through barbed wire, but I won’t. I’m not even sharing the pictures I got thanks to crossing that particular barrier; they’re stupid. But surviving that brush with death made me bold, so instead of tiptoeing around the seemingly frozen stream like it was a sleeping giant, fully eight inches deep and packing an ice cold punch that would pummel me with its frozen brass rings, I daringly stepped onto the ice. It held! I was off to the races. (Sorry for mixing so many metaphors.) (I have a cold-ridden brain crusted with zinc deposits; nothing I say counts.)

A little bit of context: the stream itself on the edge of the property. I didn’t notice it at the time, but looking at this picture it appears to be full winter to the left of the stream, autumn to the right.

IMG_3673

There was an amazing variety of patterns in the ice.

IMG_3704

IMG_3724

IMG_3701

IMG_3700

IMG_3696

IMG_3735

The edge of the frozen stream along an encased chunk of wood. There was a crack about an inch thick between the ice and the log, and you could see the water flowing beneath.

IMG_3699

A fitting end for what is sometimes called the state bird of Minnesota, a statement which probably makes humorless taxonomists cry. I don't mean to bring you down, little mosquito. I know you have your role to play in our ecosystem. I don't know what it is, but I'm sure you have one.

IMG_3730

IMG_3722

IMG_3720

A little clump of moss or perhaps a green octupus, if you squint.

IMG_3719

A maple seed or samara

IMG_3729

And for contrast, maple seeds that made it to the top of the ice. Lucky them. No, they don't care, they can't feel cold. Lucky me! I love the fine details in the seed's cover itself, but my favorite aspect of this picture is the little branching pattern on the middle samara. I wonder what's causing it.

23 thoughts on “A frozen stream

  1. “I know you have your role to play in our ecosystem. I don’t know what it is, but I’m sure you have one.”

    I’ve often wondered that myself, but other than to make our lives miserable I’ve yet to come up with an answer. Thanks for the chuckle and the wonderful photos.

  2. Pingback: February 20th pictures: a semi-rainy walk in the woods « Sarah takes pictures.

  3. Very well captured photos, especially those ice patterns, they are stunning! I am a Biology graduate, and let me share what I have learned. Regarding on the mosquito, insects, even just a mosquito, played a vital role to our ecosystem. They serve as an important food source for organisms such as frogs, fish, lizards, and many more. Also, even the larvae are also an important food source especially to fishes. Every little thing or every creature has it’s own role in maintaining the balance of our ecosystem.:)

Leave a Reply

