Largescale winter, smallscale spring

IMG_3742

It’s still clearly winter when you give the woods a superficial glance. But little hints of green are popping up, especially if you go looking for them. I think a lot of it is last year’s growth well-preserved (though some of it looks to be new, and we’ve had some incredibly warm days). That said, we’ve had little snow and enough has melted now to uncover some of the green. That’s still pretty springy.

IMG_3690

The sun finally peeked out towards the end of the afternoon, and hit this narrow patch where I was checking out the stream.

IMG_3691

IMG_3743

IMG_3754

IMG_3752

IMG_3750

IMG_3748

IMG_3708

Edit: A side note and question for fellow readers and bloggers. First a statement: I’m going nuts. I’m trying to figure out what’s going on with the quality of my pictures as they appear in the blog. Not the artistic quality; that’s, you know, unfixable for good or bad. In the last week, I noticed that depending on how I upload them, the pictures in my posts seem to have a lower resolution and duller colors than their originals. I’m wondering if anyone else has had similar issues, and how you’ve dealt with them.

I’ve tried resizing them to the maximum width allowed by my theme, so that WordPress won’t resize them for me, but they still looked bad. (Frustratingly, they only seemed to turn out ok if uploaded at the original 4,000 pixels wide.) So I made some posts with pictures hosted at Photobucket and Flickr instead, and I thought those looked better. Then with the pictures in this post, the landscapes in particular, I became disappointed again; I thought my originals looked better.

Then I opened up the blog in another browser (Internet Explorer), and they looked just fine. As they did in Chrome and Opera. They all look better than they do in Firefox, which is what I normally use. Am I crazy?

14 thoughts on “Largescale winter, smallscale spring

  1. Lovely shots, Sarah. You took me right there. My breath was frosty, my feet got cold, then I ran inside for some hot chocolate. Thank you!

  2. No you’re not crazy. Different browsers render colors differently. (And all our browsers and monitors are different, so we likely don’t see what you see anyway.) Be sure and embed the sRGB profile in your jpgs. Then the browser doesn’t have to “guess” at the color space. (This won’t solve all your problems, though.) If you are consistently seeing your problem, try boosting your saturation just a little bitty tish before exporting to jpg.

    I personally haven’t noticed anything odd with my blog post pics, but I’ve been doing a lot of b&w lately, and it’s so oatmeal colored outside, I think most recent pics look bland. (I believe we both live in MN.) My workflow is RAW, process in Capture NX2, export a jpg at 800px wide at 100 dpi for uploading to WP or Flickr.

    Good luck!

    • Thanks for the detailed response, Barb! I wondered to what extent my issues might be unique based on my specific combination of browers and monitor. I was curious though if there was some general trend among browsers that other people were experiencing too, though, since differences there seemed to lead to the biggest differences in the quality of my pics. And color space is a new concept for me, but I looked at the profile of some of my pictures in my editing program and they’re all listed as sRGB, so I guess I’m fine there.

      You’re right, it can be a little difficult to discern certain differences in pictures when they’re all taken in an oatmeal-colored landscape (yes, I’m in Minnesota too). Anyway, thanks for your advice!

  3. Good photos, Sarah. Concerning your question about photos in blog posts, how are you producing JPEGs? I used to use the “save for web” feature in PhotoShop, but found that it tended to really flatten and desaturate images. For a while I simply boosted saturation before saving, but now I find that I get better results if I save them as a high-quality JPEG. Sharpening at final size helps in some cases, too. The newer automatic resizing on WordPress doesn’t seem to mess them up too much, although I also have issues with how they show on screen, even after all that editing!

    • Thanks, Graham. I do basic touchups and then resize them in Picasa because I’m cheap like that — I go down to the maximum size allowed by my theme (580px), with the quality setting on maximum, whatever that entails. I’m hesitant to saturate or sharpen my photos more, since, as Barb pointed out above, I can’t be sure what others are seeing and don’t want to go too far. I think the differences are slight enough that they don’t really warrant my fiddling with them more, but just big enough to make me a little nuts. 🙂

Leave a Reply

