Who needs sleep when you can stay up all night playing with your new homemade lightbox?

Tonight I put together a very slapdash lightbox — courtesy of the great tutorial Nick put together over at Nick Exposed — using whatever crap I had lying around. While I need to tweak it some, I had fun playing with it a little tonight.

IMG_4658

I mean that in a nice way.

It’s pretty small. So welcome aboard, everything I own that is less than three inches tall.

IMG_4640

My new lucky cat.

IMG_4652

Bah.

IMG_4644

The best agate I've found, probably never to be topped.

IMG_4649

My very favorite tangle of string-y twine (determined after intensive polling).

It was all so fun with the French magnetic poetry busted out that I said, I know. I’ll write a good old-fashioned 5-7-5 haiku. I promptly did this, so promptly that I added an extra syllable in the second line. It might not say what I think it says. It has been a while, French, and I have no more confidence in regards to you.

IMG_4674-2

A strange insect/Sometimes no one can think/Without devouring it

16 thoughts on “Who needs sleep when you can stay up all night playing with your new homemade lightbox?

  1. I’ve recently been looking at making my own lightbox as well. With Nick’s great tutorial, your shots for inspiration and what I think is going to be a rainy weekend ahead, I may just have the perfect set up for doing it!

    Love these photos, I think the agate is my favorite – beautiful.

    • Go for it! I’m going to have so much fun with this. Glad you like the agate shot; I’m particularly proud of that. (Well, more so the find than the picture itself.)

Leave a Reply

