Back to the return of the living (fern) gully, pt. 2

These pictures were taken mid-afternoon in what I’ll presumptuously now refer to as “my” gully. (There aren’t actually any ferns, sorry for misleading with my title.) I tried to be more intentional about my backgrounds this time around, and I must say I really like the effect in a lot of these — the ones with the soft, glowing streaks, especially against some of the spinier, deadly-looking plants, of which there are many.

IMG_5389

Rattlesnake master is my new Chinese lantern. I find it nearly impossible to avoid taking a picture when I encounter it.

IMG_5388

Same goes for small, glowing, unassuming leaves, preferably ones exactly like this, contorted like a corkscrew.

IMG_5329

The little glowing stalks with the capsules are the moss's sporophytes, which house spores that will later be released and give rise to new little mosses.

IMG_5357

IMG_5380

IMG_5378

IMG_5374

Burr from wild licorice (Glycyrrhiza lepidota). I pulled about ten of these off of my scarf today, and they are big, pointy suckers. This is about three times life size.

IMG_5373

IMG_5371

IMG_5368

IMG_5360

IMG_5359

IMG_5353

IMG_5348

IMG_5342

IMG_5334

I see this fungus (assuming it is just some kind off fungus and not, say, lichen) growing on the underside of a lot of dead trees down there.

IMG_5277

I've been passing this same little chip of bark on the path almost every day, but today is the first day I stopped to take a picture. I love the combination of the bright green and the chalky whitish lichen.

IMG_5274

Moss and web clinging to cottonwood (Populus deltoides) bark

IMG_5271

Cottonwood's distinctive deep, rough ridges and furrows

IMG_5386

Goldenrod (Solidago spp.)

30 thoughts on “Back to the return of the living (fern) gully, pt. 2

    • That’s what I love about close-ups like that — when you can imagine the scale either being really small (as it is) or simply massive, hence seeing something more topographical in the pattern. Thanks for stopping by!

  1. the photos you take are so outstandingly fabulous … where one person’s eye sees nothing but dull brown and boring gray, your photographic eye sees the lichen and moss and curled edges of a leaf and the prickles (HUGE prickles) of all sorts of spiny and pointed things. Nice!

  2. I love that you include plant lore with your photos. I know that I’ve said this before but you really are a fabulous writer.

  3. Pingback: February 22nd: a spring-y interlude before some more winter « Sarah takes pictures.

Leave a Reply

