More pictures from yesterday’s coldsnap

More pictures from yesterday (a.k.a. Coldathon 2012). When I got back to the house I discovered I did not get some of the pictures I wanted because my finger had not pressed all the way down on the button and I was too cold to tell.

Because it’s not a day in my life without leaf close-ups.

IMG_5162

IMG_5198

IMG_5201

Because it’s not a day in my life without bark close-ups.

IMG_5165

IMG_5175

IMG_5178

Hackberry (Celtis occidentalis)

 

IMG_5167

Eastern red cedar (Juniperus virginiana)

One of winter’s recommendations is being able to really see trees’ shapes. I could go for a real live flower right about now, but when spring comes I’ll miss being able to see this network of branches as well as I can now.

IMG_5160

Show-off raspberry canes line the Lane.

IMG_5168

Eastern red cedar (Juniperus virginiana)

IMG_5183

8 thoughts on “More pictures from yesterday’s coldsnap

    • Thanks — those were some of the only leaves remaining on the plants in that corner of the yard, and the sun hit them at just the right way, so they were especially striking.

Leave a Reply

