February 14th pictures: Fun with burrs

There’s a plant growing on the frontier of our back garden and the woodsier reaches. I kept trying to take a closeup of its little flowers which were, I bemoaned, maddeningly prickly and kept affixing themselves to my coat. Well when I finally looked a little closer I saw that they were burrs and there were no other remnants of the flowers.

I’m not exactly sure what it is, but via Wikipedia’s page on plant genera with burrs, I was led to Enchanter’s nightshades (Circaea spp.) and I think this may be it.

IMG_5677

I was originally attracted to this plant a) because of the delicate little burrs (that I thought were flowers), but also because of b) the form of their bowed branches. I thought this picture did an okay job showing that off.

IMG_5678

We got this weird thing called snow yesterday. I know, funny, right?

IMG_5680

Another accident that is rather busy, but I still like it.

IMG_5682

It's like a streak of burr lightning!

IMG_5685

IMG_5690

They look like wicked unlit lanterns.

IMG_5689

IMG_5694

Don't mess with me, burrs, because I will fight back. You may stick to me but I have a fist.

8 thoughts on “February 14th pictures: Fun with burrs

Leave a Reply

