The railroad trestle

This afternoon my dad and I visited one of my favorite places in the area, one of the state’s numerous rail trails (old railroad beds converted into walking/jogging/biking/whatever trails). The trail is wooded and secluded in many sections and open in others, taking you through bluffs and prairies. The part we visited is really beautiful; it crosses the river on an old railroad trestle. It was a lovely day to visit, although there was the occasional gust of wind that was a bit chilly high up on the trestle. It was fun to be able to explore under the bridge a bit, which I’d never done before.

IMG_6263

1. If we didn't want to use the personals section, this is what we had to do before Facebook, before online dating services, when we wanted to let the world know that we were single and ready to mingle: dangle on the precipice of death to tag an old railroad trestle.

IMG_6264

2

IMG_6279

3

IMG_6286

4

IMG_6287-1

5

IMG_6296

6

IMG_6298

7

IMG_6306

8

IMG_6308

9

IMG_6316

10

IMG_6318

11. This pile of limestone under the bridge reminded me of marshmallows; my dad suggested frosted shredded wheat. I think he wins.

IMG_6324

12. These are blocks of a kind of limestone called Kasota stone that's found in Southeast Minnesota. The stone is incorporated in the trestle and nearby bridges, among many, many other uses.

IMG_6327

13

IMG_6339-1

14

IMG_6337

15

IMG_6342

16

IMG_6346

17

IMG_6355

18

IMG_6358

19. I thought this was maybe some kind of intentional, stylized animal made out of the twisted wreckage of part of the bridge -- but turns out it's just wreckage! Still looks neat.

IMG_6360

20. Rockiness the rusted "sculpture" is embedded in.

IMG_6362

21. Rust!! Love it.

IMG_6363

22

IMG_6365

23

IMG_6367

24

IMG_6368

25

IMG_6372

26

IMG_6376

27

IMG_6379

28

IMG_6386

29

IMG_6390

30

IMG_6392-1

31

IMG_6393-1

32

IMG_6396

33

IMG_6400

34

IMG_6410

35

IMG_6414

36. Kasota stone in the wild!

IMG_6417

37

IMG_6425

38. Lovely pattern under the bark of a plentiful pile of driftwood at the base of the trestle.

IMG_6430

39

IMG_6431

40. I did not see any kind of pink/yellow ring in the sky when I took this picture but this is how it ended up when I opened up the picture.

IMG_6446

41

IMG_6453

42

IMG_6457

43

IMG_6460

44

IMG_6464

45

IMG_6466

46

25 thoughts on “The railroad trestle

  1. very, very nice . . . for a moment I thought it was the bridge near us (still used by the railroad). I’ve been meaning to go and shoot it, but stuff gets in the way . . . now I don’t have to.

    • I was wondering that myself. There might be just enough of a little ledge they could stand on on the other side of the railing, but seriously…it makes my hands clammy just thinking about it. Thank you!

  2. Another great post, Sarah. I can’t decide what I enjoy more… your photography or your insights. Either way, you’re very talented and it’s a pleasure to follow your work. Keep it up!

  3. I have an admission to make- I went out today with a brand new Canon T3i and my results are nowhere near as pretty as what you’ve got here. Your photos give me something to imitate/aspire to as the content is so close to what I’d love to do myself. Loved this post. Thanks for being prolific!

    • Thank you so much, Kevin! That’s really affirming to hear, since I’m such a novice and really trying to figure out for the first time what I’m good at, what I’m lousy at, and everything else. I’m so glad you’re enjoying my stuff so far!

      New camera sounds like a blast. I’ll be excited to see some pictures!

  4. such an abundance of beautiful deliciousness!

    # 8 – adore the vast and stark strength of this photo
    # 12 – like snow covered chiclets – these rocks are yummy
    # 13 – I don’t know where this is, but I want my feet on that path
    # 22 – such a powerful variegation of color – the rust and lichen are alive
    # 25 – spiny and brittle texture against a landscape of coarse rust – nice
    # 32 – I could easily live here and be happy – under the shadow of the trestle
    # 43 – hands down my choice for # 1 – simplicity and complexity in one photo
    # 44 – this one is haunting, and rough, and puts me on edge a little bit
    # 45 – runner up for favorite – those stairs offer me such a soft and gentle place to rest

    thanks for sharing all this beauty and gorgeousness … breathtaking, and wonderful

    • Re 13, I thought it was really cool to see where people had obviously been walking, although this is not an official path. (The sanctioned paths are paved.) I’m sure it leads to a stunning view.
      I do like 43 (the shot of just the beams of the trestle) very much — I like strong lines like that.

      Thanks so much for taking the time to leave these kind comments! 🙂

  5. Pingback: The Two Hours Drives – Part 3: The Train and The Trestle | Disperser Tracks

Leave a Reply

