The shade garden in late February

Some pictures from my little shade garden late this morning. I suspected that I might see some new growth already and I was right. Some of last year’s growth is quite lovely, too.

Coral bell leaf -- this is the 'Regina' cultivar. I think this looks like a little fan.

Almost all of the moss in my garden is so green, it's nuts. The hillside as seen from the backyard is starting to green up too, and it's all moss, which is nice to sea amidst a sea of brown.

My vinca is already budding.

My lawyers say I have to upload one picture of lichen every day, the tinier and more charming the better.

Jack-in-the-pulpit foliage and fruit. I like that it fades completely.

Fruit, closeup.

Sedum against my garden's rock border. I saw what I'm almost positive are new buds on that as well, though I can't say whether the one shown in this picture is from this year or last.

This is a limb of the crabapple tree that fell in the yard. Since the last time I saw it, something has ripped off most of the buds (which are bigger, fuzzier, and more colorful than they typically are this time of year). I was really struck by how bright orange it was underneath the bark.

14 thoughts on “The shade garden in late February

  1. Your photos are really lovely! You have a fascination for the minutia of nature like I do. When I hike, I probably miss all kinds of deer and bear because I’m on my stomach taking photos of a gorgeous little toadstool or some velvety moss. I look forward to seeing more while following you.

    • I’m sure I miss all kinds of stuff, too, but I’m such a sucker for the details and I figure they maybe get a little bit less love in the photographic world. Or maybe they don’t — I’m going to go right ahead documenting them to death, though. šŸ™‚ So glad you enjoy my pictures!

  2. Tapped in “Nature” on the WordPress Topics page, and up you came! I am so glad… I love these close-up photos, & am particularly glad you have a legal obligation (you tell us) to post at least one lichen photo daily. I live in downtown Toronto (Canada) so my garden doesn’t look like this at the moment! I’m training for a big trek in Iceland this summer, so my Iceland Penny blog is all about my long urban walks, and what I see and hear and photograph as I walk. I’m really interested in nature in the city and also ‘nature’ — the sculptures, parks etc. that represent nature to us. I’m going to follow your blog, I hope you’ll check out mine as well.

    • Your blog sounds really great and what an adventure! I’ll be sure to check it out. I’d love to visit Iceland myself someday (I probably can’t count layovers…). So glad you stumbled across my blog. šŸ™‚

    • Thank you so much for nominating me, Kevin! Sorry I missed this comment until now, but I’m really flattered you enjoy my blog so much, and it’s really nice to be nominated by someone whose photos I like very much in return. šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

