Yesterday’s reheated leftovers.

The first nine pictures are all from the front yard and the adjacent (currently) icy ditch.

Scots pine (...I think), covered in SpaghettiOs!

Scots pine (...I think)

Horsetail

Some kind of deadly thistle, I'm guessing.

A glacier. No - I mean a chunk of ice in the driveway.

Closeup of a root in the gully.

My very favorite gully in the whole woods. You can perhaps tell that it looks a little damp and the roots and other plant matter are a little matted down like they've seen some traffic -- the stream starting at the top of the ravine began flowing all the way down to the gully for the first time this season. (First time as far as I know.)

Some of the many trees that have been lost as part of the riverbank caved in with the flooding of recent years. There's my dad off in the distance to give you some idea of the scale.

Broken shale (?) on the sandbar.

22 thoughts on “Yesterday’s reheated leftovers.

    • Thank you! I don’t have a dslr so I’m just using the macro setting on my compact. I’m guessing once I have a dslr I will probably get a macro lens and use it, oh, 90% of the time. 🙂

  1. Such a gorgeous array of beauty … loved that shot of the gully, and the peeling shredded bark, and the pieces of shale. Easy to see how our ancestors figured out how to use shale as tools, right? Those sharp edges become nature’s natural version of a sharp knife. Lovely photos, as always!

  2. More beautiful pictures! I’m loving your blog and can’t wait to see what you find once spring rolls around. Thanks for inspiring! I love to take pictures too and now will try experimenting more.

  3. I’m partial to leftovers. They require little work and usually taste much better than the previous version — a two-fer. Bark peeling from the tree and the shale rock..my favorites.

    • Thank you so much — I do think that may be my favorite from this batch. I’m a sucker for all the curly grasses around here because they have such graceful shapes that make for all kinds of nice pictures, but I thought that one looked particularly nice with the narrow dof.

Leave a Reply

