February 27th pictures: Seven Mile Creek

This morning I went to a place called Seven Mile Creek. I’d never been there before and I didn’t see enough of it to say whether I’m dying to go back — my camera battery died early on and the wind was awful, so I didn’t stay long. But it was pretty. As promised, there was a creek. There were also rocky outcrops into which countless couples had carved their initials to commemorate their eternal love, as well as several playgrounds, several footpaths, several rickety bridges.

IMG_8236

1. This bridge made some pretty horrible noises when I was on it.

IMG_8231

2. My favorite ice of all, parking lot ice.

IMG_8233

3. The titular creek.

IMG_8237

4. I could be wrong, but it seems like snow like the flakes scattered on this leaf only looks really crystallized when it is damn cold out.

IMG_8240

5. I don't really know what most of the plants are that I took pictures of today, so I'm going to make some things up. This is the jacks flower (because it looks like jacks, you see).

IMG_8243

6. More parking lot ice for good measure.

IMG_8241

8.

IMG_8244

9.

IMG_8248

10. The saddest little parking lot tree ever; someone apparently found it tasty.

IMG_8250

11.

IMG_8251

12.

IMG_8256

13.

IMG_8257

14. Wrinkle berry* (*made-up name)

IMG_8266

15. I think this is actually mullein and I'm not making that up.

IMG_8271

16.

IMG_8274

17. I was going to make up something about q-tips or cotton balls but I accidentally might have found out what this is -- think it may be thimbleweed, a kind of anemone.

IMG_8277

18. Yeah, I don't know what this grass is either. Foxtail?

IMG_8285

19. From the annals of sad trees.

IMG_8287

20. Pretzel tree* (*also not its real name)

IMG_8288

21. No, do not know.

IMG_8290

22. Hey, more goldenrod.

IMG_8292

22.

IMG_8293

23. Mandatory lichen

IMG_8294

24. I'm not sure about this, either...tragically. Edit: I keep looking at it and wondering if it's some kind of sumac. Maybe the flowers have really just been picked at a lot and faded. And I know some sumacs have fuzzy branches, kind of like this guy here.

Every time I’ve put numbers in the captions, I’ve always messed up the numbering. Somewhere at the beginning, too. And this time at the end. Today we’re just going to have to cope with the fact that there is no picture #7 and that there are two #22s.

37 thoughts on “February 27th pictures: Seven Mile Creek

  1. . . . I . . . I can’t . . . I can’t cope! (sob!)

    How about that! It let me “like” . . .

    My favorites are #7 and the third #22.

    I kid, of course . . . 14 and 23 get my vote (if we were voting)

  2. 1, 5, 8, 12 … phooey … there are just too many good ones here.

    If I just have to pick a favorite, I’m going to go with 22 (the 2nd one)
    or maybe number 1 … or 23 … or 18 … shoot, there’s too many I like the most
    can I change my answer? I’m going with number 12, and that’s my final answer.

  3. You have a very good eye. I just recently signed up for a blog on this sight, I haven’t made my first post yet. I have found yours to be very inspiring. Thank you for sharing.

  4. Don’t know why, but the reds have me today. 1, 14, 20, 22, and 23, all the ones with red. I’m certain that was a very nice walk. I would have preferred that to cleaning out the attic (which is what I did). Spring fever kicking into high gear!

    • Thanks, Shannon! I liked having the bridge and fences there for a little bit of structure and color. The walk was nice but so very, very cold, too. I’m hoping I’ll see some more things popping up in the woods, too.

  5. Stopped at Seven Mile on your way home, eh? Hope traffic wasn’t a bear. If the weather men are right, your next photo shoot will be of a blizzard!

    • They keep saying it and saying it and saying it. What are we to believe?! I thought I heard you guys are due for a crap-ton of snow, too, while we are only supposed to get a few inches.

      Traffic was actually really good — it only seemed really backed up on 94 past the 35W exit, and for about two seconds on 494, so that was fine.

  6. I love your affinity for detail all the little corners you find. I also really like that you are pretty good with plant species names- something I’d like to brush up on myself for photos in my area. Anyway, enjoyed this!

    • Thanks, Kevin! I definitely need some review on the plant ID myself, though, and feel like I should be doing a better job considering I went to school for this stuff! Glad you enjoyed it.

  7. I absolutely LOVE the bridge shot. It reminds me of the bridges along the 15 mile Streamway Path we have here Somewhere-in-the-Middle-of-the-USA. But even with the most amazing natural light, I still don’t think any of the bridges I’ve crossed have that sort of color and character. Nicely done!

    • Thank you very much! It was a very sweet little bridge (fading red paint and everything), I must say, and I think it looked particularly nice in the morning light.

Leave a Reply

