March 9th pictures: Ice Capades for the 21st century

Pictures from today’s walk:

1. The first new leaf I've found on our coral bells! Behold it in its crinkly purple glory.

2. A crack in the seed cover of Chinese lantern. Behold the orange abyss within.

3. Brand new lamium leaves. Advice from one of my old plant ID instructors: "Don't plant this."

4. Beautiful purple leaves on the riverbank.

5. I scrambled down the bank to take pictures of ice formations at the river's edge and specifically where limbs of downed trees were embedded in the water.

6. River reflections

7.

8.

9.

10.

11.

12. I really had to scramble through a maze of branches to get these pictures. It was a little awkward.

13. Glowing shreds of sapwood from the old tree around which I saw all these pretty nice formations.

14.

15. No, I'm not sure whose fault it is.

16. A noodly-looking limb in the old tree.

17. Interesting cracks in caked-on mud on the old tree.

18.

19.

20. Brush and fallen trees on the riverbank.

21. I took this picture mostly to brag about how intrepid I am (okay, kind of). Most of my ice pictures were shot crouched under the V of the biggest limbs in these pictures, trying not to get sucked down into the almost quicksand-retentive mud.

22. Some less-intricate but still interesting patterns in the ice.

23.

24. A root ball and landmark I've taken many a picture of of late.

25.

26.

27.

28.

29.

30.

31.

32.

33.

32 thoughts on “March 9th pictures: Ice Capades for the 21st century

  1. I’m a sucker for ice pictures, and the geometric patterns (10, 11, and 12) appeal to my engineering personality . . . but the Lamium leaves appeal to my contrarian nature.

    • Something for everybody I hope. The little hairs on the lamium leaves are actually quite soft, less prickly, although it is a very stubborn plant!

  2. These beautiful ice pictures take my imagination to Europa or some far away frozen moon (although I doubt any of these foreign moons are half as beautiful as Earth). Thanks for your (near) sacrifice!

    • Wow, thank you so much! Those are some very kind words and I’m so pleased that you enjoy the beauty-in-the-mundane thing I try to do with my pictures.

Leave a Reply

