Calvary Cemetery

Today I stopped at a little country cemetery a few miles from our house.  It was sort of a neat place; it was nestled between a couple corn fields at the top of a hill overlooking a dam. It was very small. The oldest graves were from the early 1900s, but there weren’t many of those. What was interesting was a lot of these older graves were engraved in Swedish or Norwegian. Didn’t stay long and it was too bright to get really good pictures, but I got a few details that I liked.

1. Lichen

Danish or Norwegian? Unsure

3. A maple, I think

4.

5.

6. Hey more lichen

7.

8.

9. Swedish

10. These were taller than me. I'm not sure what they are.

11. I like the shapes these stems eventually settled into

12. The cemetery sign

Here are some way more atmospheric pictures of another country cemetery from a few weeks back.

11 thoughts on “Calvary Cemetery

  1. There’s something to be said about a peaceful walk in an old cemetery, the kind where the tombstone are upright, rather than all lying flat. I too find myself wondering not only about the people buried below, but what life was like 100, 150 or even 200 years ago – and how much it’s changed. These are captivating photos.

  2. Cemeteries are always interesting places. Walking through one always fills me with peace somehow, but at the same time nostalgia and sadness. Lovely pictures. 🙂

  3. No 3 is a brilliant shot!
    Interesting to see those tomb’s inscriptions: No. 2 “Født” is Danish – (= Born). Number 9 “Hustru” is also Danish (= wife)…

    • Thank you! And yeah, the other funny thing was that not all of the graves in the second language were engraved entirely in that language! The “hustru” grave said “hustru of.”

      I know there’s a lot of overlap between Danish, Swedish, and Norwegian, but I figured a lot of these graves were probably Swedish or Norwegian since that’s where most of the settlers in the area came from. Født could be Norwegian too, couldn’t it? And I automatically assumed ‘hustru’ was Swedish, having seen that before in my studies, although not as often as ‘fru’…I wondered if it was more old-fashioned or perhaps had a slightly different connotation or level of formality. Anyway perusing a few online dictionaries it looks like ‘hustru’ is present in all three languages. I’m not really sure where these people came from!

      • You are right that the 3 Scandinavian languages have many common words, so that these two probably are the same word also. “Hustru” is more formal than “kone” = wife. “Fru” means “Mrs.”.
        Have you been studying Scandinavian languages?

        • Thanks, was wondering about that.
          I’ve studied Swedish a little bit and spent some in Sweden. (I’ve been to Denmark too, to Copenhagen, but I’m not sure how much that counts, considering it was barely more than a day. 🙂 It was lovely, though!)

  4. I love these old cemeteries out in the country – some of them probably had a little church nearby that is long gone. They’re so peaceful. Always makes me think of Thornton Wilder’s “Our Town.”

Leave a Reply

