April 9th pictures

1. I believe this might be little-leaf buttercup.

2. False Solomon's seal flowers about to open

3. The same plant but focused on the shadow because, hey, I love shadows.

4. A little green bug on Virginia waterleaf. It looks like a teeny green mosquito with moth antennae glued onto it

5. Finally I know what this is, now that it's blooming! It's gooseberry. My mom was trying to clue me into this -- well, she tried to explicitly tell me a few days ago. When I described it to her, she wondered if it might be gooseberry. I had been thinking it might be some kind of currant. Good news for both of us, the gooseberry is in the same genus as currants (Ribes).

6. These are little hackberry leaves and on this and many others little clusters of leaves in the area, there was a gathering of these little brown bugs. I was interested to learn today as I browsed the hackberry page on Wikipedia that its genus -- Celtis -- is now classified under the hemp family. Back in MY day -- and by that I mean two or three years ago, when I took my plant ID classes -- we were taught that hackberry was in the elm family. Well, good to know.

7. Another beautiful Jack-in-the-pulpit with a deep red spathe.

8. A closer look at the Jack spathe.

9. Looking down on the spathe and spadix.

10. Then I found another plant where the spathe was all green. It was much smaller than the other I photographed so I thought maybe the reddish purple color developed later on, or maybe it's just natural variation within the species. (I think it's only one species but I'm not sure.)

11. Some slightly warped wood nettle leaves. Immature? Virus? Little wood fairy going around with a curling iron?

12. Signs of an abandoned civilization. Or the strong wind we've been having. Actually I took this picture because I was shocked how much greenery had popped up on the ground of our campsite in the last seven days -- an incredible amount -- and I could imagine it quite quickly overtaking this overturned camp chair...which I neglected to right.

13. I love violets.

14. Young sumac leaves

15. We put a tarp over my shade garden today because it's supposed to dip below freezing tonight. All the bumps you see are due to the cursed wind lifting the tarp up. Oh, cursed wind.

10 thoughts on “April 9th pictures

  1. Your Jack in the pulpits photos are fantastic. Love the green one and the way the light comes through it.
    We have a few in a little shade garden that I’m going to check out tomorrow. They’re just beginning to come up – maybe mine don’t get as much sun..?

    • Thank you! The Jacks around here are in fairly thick shade. I’ve noticed a bit of variation around our woods but I’m not sure what accounts for it. More sun, or less? I transplanted one to my garden a few years ago, and now there are four — so it’s doing alright but they’re much slower than the Jacks down in the woods, by perhaps a week or two. I think they actually get a bit too much sun (they’re mostly in the shade until the sun’s setting).

  2. Such beautiful images! I especially love # 1 and 11. If you could take some follow up photos of #1, I would sooooo love to see how it develops!

    • Thank you! I thought of your blog and your pictures when I was taking pictures of this little guy the other day. I’ve never noticed that plant much before but now there’s one growing in my garden, so it’ll be easier for me to keep track of.

    • By gum, that’s just what it looks like. That’s for the link — I keep forgetting to check out some of the bug ID sites out there, because there seem to be a lot of really good, responsive ones. I didn’t even notice the thing’s weird, puffy antennae until I looked at the picture, and even there they were so faint that I couldn’t tell if that’s really what they were.

      We probably could have kept going with the rocks on the tarps but by that point had displaced so much of the garden border we gave it a rest. I just hope it’s enough for the plants; a lot of stuff is blooming or about to bloom….

  3. Tell the truth—you left the camp chair overturned because you want to see how long it will take it to disappear beneath the greenery. 😉

Leave a Reply

