May 27th and 28th pictures

1. Soon I will be like unto this fish. Oh, no, not immortalized on a lantern to be sold in hobby stores across this great nation, like this one was. Rather, I’ll be swimming like this fish in the little pool off in the background. We just got this pool yesterday. It will make this summer bearable.

2. Looking down on the pea plants from my inexpert lashing of the teepee. Some of the little pea tendrils have nearly reached the vertical supports.

3. I resowed some lunaria seeds in the semi-shade patch adjacent to my vegetables, as it didn’t seem much of anything was happening there after 2+ weeks of waiting. Then a few days after sowing #2, the first batch of seeds finally began to emerge after all, some of them through a path I had just mulched over the old area. What with my mistaking the first seeds for dead and the drastic action I took as a result of it, it’s just like Romeo and Juliet. For seeds.

4. This is actually one of the covers of the septic tank with some nice lichen growing on top of it. One is crude and rough, the other pretty and refined. It’s just like Beauty and the Beast.

5. The castor bean plant’s new little leaf is tentatively making its appearance. It’s just like — well, I don’t know what this one’s just like.

6. The developing fruit of the false indigo

7. This fly is pretty much the mascot of the last three or four days. Everywhere I go, a new batch is ready to mercilessly bite off chunks of flesh. Today I decided to work in the garden right on the edge of the woods, and knew I might not be able to survive the barrage of flies and mosquitoes, so I broke down and went swimming through a mist of Deet.

8. I love the golden speckle that the false indigo flowers take on as they age.

9. The milkweed — of which there is an abundance in the front yard — is about to bloom.

10. I founnd a tiny little egg in my shade garden, near my old cat’s little grave.

11. The much-awaited forget-me-not seedlings by Charlie’s grave.

12. The old poppy flower is a gaudy old dame.

13. Cool columbine seed pods

14. I interpret the body language of this beet seedling as “Howdy, neighbor.” I just thinned them yesterday. I don’t like thinning things. Every germination feels like a hard-won victory, and then I have to rip it out for the others’ good. It just feels wrong.

15. Looking between the rows of onions.

16. A view of one-half of the garden. Onions, strawberries, kohlrabi, Brussels sprouts, broccoli, another few rows of onions (probably not visible yet), carrots, lunaria, forget-me-nots.

17. Carrots!!

18. My mom picked up some lovely celosia today.

11 thoughts on “May 27th and 28th pictures

  1. What’s the story with the egg? Is it empty? Found a nest nearby?

    . . . is it from a dragon?

    . . . is it now part of breakfast?

    Inquisitive minds want to know.

    • It was whole, and stone cold. Also, it looked smaller than a robin’s egg to me, but what do I know. It must have dropped from a nest in the tree, but when I looked, I didn’t see any except for the “nests” of the hellraising tent caterpillars.

      It should still be sitting out there, unless some enterprising animal swiped it…

        • I know, I’m a monster. But I’d be a terrible surrogate bird mother, let’s be honest. We just had an unsuccessful baby bird rescue last weekend when my niece insisted on taking in a baby robin. This time around I didn’t much feel like putting another bird through that….

  2. I hope you eat your thinnings. It makes cutting / pulling them bearable (for me, anyway). Especially the beet greens. YUM!!

    We also have a pool (ours is a bladder of water though, no hard side). Pool temp is already in the 80’s, but it still seems cool.

    Bummer about the egg. At least you didn’t stumble upon dead birdies like I did this morning.

    • I ended up thinning these when they were so small they’re hardly be a bite, unfortunately. (I would have waited, but unfortunately, the way they emerged, they were in super tight little clumps separated by empty stretches, so I thought I’d get the ball rolling sooner rather than later. I am going to harvest some of the leaves while they are growing, though. And I just sowed some more peas so I can eat some of those shoots!

      Dead birdies are always sad. Particularly when you are trying to save them.

Leave a Reply

