July 18th pictures

My bike kind of self-destructed on me in the middle of a ride today so I took these pictures while I was walking back to the house to get the truck to pick up the bike. Dumb old bike, one wheel stopped turning all of a sudden. It didn’t yield to my overwhelming mechanical know-how, which consisted of laying the bike down on its side, attempting to manually turn the wheel, and then staring at it for a while as I thought about how I didn’t even know how much I didn’t know about why the wheel wasn’t turning. Ohhhh, well.

Along the side of the road, in the weeds right up against the cornfield, I found what looks to be some asparagus, obviously gone to seed. Kind of purdy. Guessing it drifted in from the nearby farmstead/

Asparagus reaching ineffectually towards power lines

It rained today. I am not even kidding. Here are some of the raindrops lingering on the grass in the ditch.

While I was walking back to the house, I spied a small patch of corn that was short enough that I could easily take a picture of the tassel. Hurray! They’re so nice and delicate.

Tall bellflower at the roadside. What a nice wildflower.

4 thoughts on “July 18th pictures

  1. I am always amazed at how you find beauty in weeds and sticks. I was telling someone about this the other day and had trouble articulating the power of your photography. Truly, one must see it to understand. I tried taking photos of crispy flowers on Monday, but didn’t have as much success. What lens are you using? Maybe that’s my problem. 🙂

Leave a Reply

