August 13th and 14th

This weekend my grandma told me she has a hard time picturing me working on the farm. Here’s a picture of my filthy hands after a day of doing nothing but picking tomatoes and tying up tomato vines. I would not have believed tomatoes alone could gunk a person up so bad, but there we are.

Believe it, Grandma.

This is what I harvested from the garden yesterday. I don’t know what to do with all the tomatoes. My dad eats some of them like apples. I make pico de gallo with a lot of it. Might make a few jars of spaghetti sauce or something. Was happy about the radishes. I don’t even like radishes that much. I just wanted them for the color. But the first few bolted and didn’t actually produce much of a root. These ones made their way into a salad.

I was weeding today at the farm and was about to pull up this milkweed when I saw this on it. I believe it is a milkweed tussock moth. Had to leave the milkweed where it was.

Pretty caterpillar.

The caster oil flower peaks out from between the plant’s big leaves.

Exotic.

Aphids on sweet corn in my backyard. The corn by the pool is taller than me now and tasseling a-plenty.

14 thoughts on “August 13th and 14th

      • Some of us protect our delicate hands and still manage speed and efficiency.

        Plus, at least us guys, we look more manly and rugged wearing leather work gloves. And it’s downright dramatic when we remove them in preparation for a gunfight.

        • I’m a pacifist so no gunfights for me. And I’m a vegetarian, which carries over into my choice of pseudo-suede gloves and pleather belts. No wonder my pants keep falling down

        • Maybe, but then again, having your hands all beat to hell (or at least, extra hell) thanks in part to minimal glove-wearing is pretty manly too. Also, think how embarrassing it would be if you’re removing the glove for said fight and the glove got stuck on your hand or something and you had to struggle with it. You’d get laughed right out of town. While they’re laughing, you could take this opportunity to shoot them, I guess, but that’s dishonorable.

          But to be sure, to glove or not to glove is one of the most sacred issues of personal liberty a person can make, and it is the right and responsibility of all citizens to make an informed choice. Issues to be considered include but are not limited to: comfort (do you want to wear them on triple digit days? have you had it up to here with blood-blister enclosed thistles wedged in your thumbs, or can you handle a few more in the next round of weeding?), dexterity (have you verified to what extent it may be compromised by the gloves, especially stiffer ones?) and the semi-related speed and portability (if they’re really only useful for part of your task, are you going to want to take them on and off for certain tasks, or do you just want to roll up your sleeves and get the job done with as few interruptions as possible?), impact on items in the activity (are you like me and your life suddenly revolves around delicate tomatoes, and even when not harvesting them you want to be as aware of them as possible — i.e. be able to feel them too — so’s not to squish more than is necessary?).

          Whoops, just wrote a treatise on glove-wearing.

          • comfort – Wells Lamont are very comfortable gloves. They tend to run a tad large, but they will eventually get wet, and shrink to fit . . . but still comfortable.

            weeding – gloves are a must in my yard as I have to weed among rocks and steel edging. It’s not the plants that would hurt my delicate hands; the rocks and cold steel would chew them up.

            dexterity – I see this an issue related to both the quality of the glove and the task at hand. I’m not generally picking dimes off the ground, doing cross-stitching, or working with delicate implements in an attempt to repair watches, etc. – I’m swinging tools, moving stuff, chopping, digging, and in general reshaping the land to my will . . .

            speed/portability – this is more of an organizational issue; rather than alternate jobs, I group my tasks using a glove-requirement criteria. But, say one would have to remove one’s gloves, not a big deal. Throw them on the ground, tuck them in a pocket, etc. Any sacrifice in speed is well worth the protection of delicate, and might I say, soft hands (manly soft, not the other kind).

            delicate tasks – tomatoes are vile things, and squishing is too good for them (side note . . . I can’t even imagine wasting valuable sugar on them; when forced to eat them, I find slathering them with salt and adding a generous dosage of oil and vinegar kills enough of the taste to make them edible – after cleaning the odious pulp, full of appendix-inflaming seeds, off what is otherwise almost edible meat of the fruit). But for truly important delicate tasks having clean hands is crucial; picking one’s nose, scratching one’s ears, or rubbing one’s eyes . . . long ago I learned I don’t possess the necessary elbow dexterity when my hands look like the above.

            As for delay in removing the gloves in a gunfight . . . what you describe is not likely to happen as one trains for those eventualities. But were it to happen, and I suddenly have the advantage over a foe incapacitated with laughter, it would just make the task easier (perhaps even more satisfying) . . . nothing dishonorable in surviving.

  1. Beautiful photos as always, Sarah. I’m late getting to this one. Still going down my inbox of posts…

    I rarely use gloves, unless I’m working with thorns (roses) or poison ivy (itchy!). A big part of the garden experience for me is tactile – feeling the soil beneath my feet. The “feel” of it lets me know what it needs (clay? more compost and worms. sandy? more compost.). Dirt under my nails means I’m a happy girl.

Leave a Reply

