December 8th and 7th

We got some snow lately.

Maybe I’m crazy, but it seemed like the grass was greening up a little more before the snow came. We got a few spits’ worth of rain during the warmer days before it started snowing.

IMG_9552

We thought it was almost spring, said the grass.

IMG_9557

A zinnia wearing a hat made of snow.

IMG_9558

A mum with just a dusting of snow.

IMG_9560

In addition to snow-bedecked photos of mums, milkweed, and coneflowers, I can now add zinnias and peonies.

IMG_9561

Milkweed

IMG_9563

Milkweed leaf cupping snow

IMG_9565

I find myself unable to not take pictures of small wispy seeds when I find them.

IMG_9572

My dad and I set off down one of the paths through the woods. This path was rabbit-approved.

IMG_9576

IMG_9587

IMG_9588

IMG_9596

One of those delightful octopus conglomerations of trees to the right with a largely bald red cedar to the left. Like how so many of the trees in this little grove all seem to be reaching to the left.

IMG_9603

Leaf trifecta

IMG_9605

Goldenrod, the year-round MVP of the forest, ditches, prairie, and garden. So much interest.

IMG_9606

Buds of the what I guess to be ponderosa pine growing, not so fortuitously, on the corner of the house.

Those were pictures from yesterday. Here are pictures from Friday, when the snow started.

IMG_9521

Across the street

I wanted to take more pictures of the snow coming down, but I had neither a tripod, nor a desire to improvise one and drag it downstairs, nor a desire to improvise one and drag it onto my balcony, because I was not given an enthusiastic blessing to use the balcony whenever, and having thought it over, I decided that if I have to be on it when it collapses, I’d rather the weather be pleasant, so I didn’t go out there.

I had no choice but to take pictures of Christmas lights. Gradually this morphed into taking pictures of Christmas lights through glass.

IMG_9528

IMG_9485

IMG_9510

IMG_9530

IMG_9531

IMG_9541

3 thoughts on “December 8th and 7th

Leave a Reply

