Catching up

Since Christmas, my life has been a whirlwind of window frost chronicling, cat badgering, fearless baking, and half-assed crafting and home improvement, I guess you could say. Here is what’s been going on.

IMG_0698

IMG_0697

IMG_0681

IMG_0679

IMG_0668

IMG_0706

IMG_0705

IMG_0693

IMG_0691

IMG_0682

Here's how the bread looked before it became bread. It was a nervous, exciting time that easily could have ended in tragedy.

Yesterday I made bread dough and today I baked the bread. Here’s how the bread looked before it became bread. It was a nervous, exciting time that easily could have ended in tragedy.

Oh, bread.

Oh, bread.

Wow, I made bread. It looked like bread. It smelled like bread. It tasted like bread. I was so proud. I wanted to tell everyone. Now I'm telling you.

When it was done, it looked like bread. It smelled like bread. It tasted like bread. I was so proud. I wanted to tell everyone. Now I’m telling you.

Maggie lies on the floor like she's dead. But she's not.

Maggie lies on the floor like she’s dead. But she’s not.

Here's a little insight int how my life works. About six months ago or more, my mom gave me this The Scream nightlight. Last month I bought new lightbulbs to put in it. This weekend,I finally tested the nightlight. It was just as cool as I dreamed it would be. I wanted to use this nightlight in my second bedroom because there's no overhead light in there and it's always messy and I don't want to trip over things when I'm going in there to turn on the lamp and I especially don't want to be grabbed by the demons that no doubt lurk in that bedroom. This picture is mostly for demonstration purposes, though. I'm not sure I want to have that light on in the room considering that this weekend and weekends past, I have spent millions upon millions of hours applying old, old dry pages from books to cover up the old, old, dry, cracked, buckling, ugly wallpaper that was in there and I'm afraid everything will start on fire. But please do admire my cool fake wallpaper and my cool nightlight.

Here’s a little insight int how my life works. About six months ago or more, my mom gave me this The Scream nightlight. Last month I bought new lightbulbs to put in it. This weekend,I finally tested the nightlight. It was just as cool as I dreamed it would be. I wanted to use this nightlight in my second bedroom because there’s no overhead light in there and it’s always messy and I don’t want to trip over things when I’m going in there to turn on the lamp and I especially don’t want to be grabbed by the demons that no doubt lurk in that bedroom. This picture is mostly for demonstration purposes, though. I’m not sure I want to have that light on in the room considering that this weekend and weekends past, I have spent millions upon millions of hours applying old, old dry pages from books to cover up the old, old, dry, cracked, buckling, ugly wallpaper that was in there and I’m afraid everything will start on fire. But please do admire my cool fake wallpaper and my cool nightlight.

I have been eating vegetables that are roasted because I'm fancy.

I have been eating vegetables that are roasted because I’m fancy.

4 thoughts on “Catching up

  1. Love the pix, especially love the old book-page wallpaper—what a great idea! Though you could find guests distracted when they visit… I lived in an apartment in an old house where the landlord peeled wallpaper on a stairwell to replace it and discovered that the wood underneath had been pre-lined with newspapers from the 1920s. We spent a whole afternoon sitting on the staircase reading.

    • Thanks — and that staircase of yours sound really cool. I love old newspapers and probably would have done the same thing.

      As I was putting all these pages up, I found myself wishing I’d actually read a couple of the novels first. They looked kind of fun in a melodramatic way; one was this romance from the twenties called something like, So-and-so, Girl of the Mountain.

  2. Lovely frost pictures and loved the photos of the bread too! Just baked apple & sultana muffins. (It’s 3am in England! Just a normal guy who doesn’t sleep well and likes to bake!) Used to make own bread and was very proud of first loaf too. Still have photos, but didn’t blog 5 years ago, so photo only shared with family.

Leave a Reply

