January 6th

resizedrevampedimage

PICTURE O’ THE DAY. I expected a somewhat more solitary walk in the woods behind my parents’ house today, but traffic or signs thereof were everywhere: deer, rabbits, people, dogs (including my neighbor’s dog, who hates me, and wandered down into the woods possibly for the express purpose of barking disapprovingly at me), people with chainsaws (the neighbor, not a chainsaw massacre-committer, at least I don’t think so), and people in large vehicles that looked bigger than snow mobiles but smaller than snowcats, driving alongside the river. These were some of the things I saw.

whitenedsweetcicely

Sweet Cicely

IMG_1280

Goldenrod gall

IMG_1290

Goldenrod

IMG_1279

Golderod

IMG_1278
Tall bellflower (I think)

IMG_1271

A mess of bedstraw

IMG_1260

Nettle?

IMG_1253

A….stick.

IMG_1251

I think I found out what these curlies were last year, but I’ve since forgotten. It will be a fun new mystery to live all over again. And hey, Groundhog’s Day is coming. Perfect.

IMG_1248

Goldenrod leaves on the edge of the garden.

IMG_1249

Goldenrod, take two.

IMG_1245

Goldenrod, take three: goldenroddier.

IMG_1242

Sedum in the front garden. It was one of the last things to be planted in this garden. And now here it is, all providing winter interest.

I’m trying to get better at stuff and learn how to use Gimp (can’t afford Photoshop) to do things like fix the blue, underdeveloped snow areas of pictures, but I largely left it alone in a lot of these. What can I say, I like the blue. I hope that doesn’t mean I’ll be fired from posting my amateur pictures on the internet for free….

2 thoughts on “January 6th

  1. Your photography is stunning. And thank you for informing me on what Goldenrod was, I had been wondering for the longest time what it was called. Have a great day!

Leave a Reply

