January 28th

Well, it’s some exciting weather out there today in Minnesota land. In fact, it’s been hairy for a few days, not that I’d know firsthand as I have holed myself up in my apartment because it’s dangerous out there. There was a thick fog this morning that they said would probably cease to be an issue by noon, but when I headed home it was still lingering and so was the thin sheen of ice coating everything.

The first four pictures are of the seedpods of velvetleaf, a very common weed alongside roads and farm fields. I took some pictures of them last year (they can be found here at the end of the entry). The weather was similar then, although the plants had iced over a little more spectacularly.

IMG_1958

BEHOLD THE PICTURE O’ THE DAY

IMG_1960

I really like this one. The ice looks kind of like little jigsaw puzzle pieces.

IMG_1956

IMG_1955

Don’t cry, little velvetleaf.

There was some plant, maybe goldenrod, with little outstretched stems that looked like tentacles or something. The next few pictures are all of that plant.

IMG_2010

IMG_1967

IMG_1988

IMG_1981redone

IMG_1977

Looks kind of gnarly.

IMG_1975redone

IMG_1996

IMG_1931

I wish I knew exactly what all these little curlies were. I always forget.

IMG_1938

Part of a floral arrangement at a grave

IMG_1990

Box elder twig encased in ice

IMG_2003

IMG_1968

A spiny raspberry cane and some leaves iced over

I think these next two are rattlesnake master.

IMG_2009

IMG_2012

IMG_2013

My guess is this is a red osier dogwood.

What are pictures of the rural Midwest without some corn thrown in?

IMG_2029

IMG_2031

IMG_2033

10 thoughts on “January 28th

    • I have a little compact; it’s a Canon Elph (actually Ixus) Powershot something-or-other, can’t remember the exact model. Whenever I upgrade to a DSLR (and hopefully a nice macro lens) I have a feeling I’ll keep toting my little Canon with me too since it’s such a nice, easy-to-use little camera.

Leave a Reply

