Schizanthus

I bought some Schizanthus or butterfly flower the other day. Same family as tomatoes and company: Solanaceae or DEADLY NIGHTSHADE. I wouldn’t have guessed that connection straight off, but the leaves do bear a resemblance to dainty little tomato leaves. Especially if those tomato leaves spent the night with some kind of fern. The things I think about!

Deadly nightshade might be the theme of these pictures. They’re at night, number one. And number two, they’re as deadly as delicate foliage, fake lace, and old, plain wallpaper in the glow of Christmas lights can suggest. That is pretty deadly.

IMG_3217

IMG_3221

As I type this, my cat is licking my sweater, for some reason.

One thought on “Schizanthus

Leave a Reply

