It’s December 29th. That is as good a day as any to start a project.

I’m supposed to be taking a nap, but I decided that it was time to revive my decrepit photo blog instead. Oh my god, is that black mold growing around the edges? Sweet mother of–! Sorry, guys. I know it’s dusty in here, too. And don’t look behind that door, whatever you do.

I’ve been planning to do this for a couple weeks now but wasn’t sure exactly what my approach would be. I wanted to do a project 365 again. I wanted to get a new theme for my blog and make it look better. I wanted to organize a lot better going into it so that any interested passersby could actually find things in my blog, if they want. And I wanted to start it on January 1st!

But the new year is for chumps. Why not start today?

IMG_5103

THIS IS THE FIRST PICTURE OF THE NEW YEAR, EVEN THOUGH IT’S 2013. OKAY? IT’S JUST AN OLD FLOWER. DEAL WITH IT. THERE ARE GOING TO BE A LOT OF THESE.

There might be themes on certain days. I know people approach their photo projects with prompts, and I might scab that when my motivation is running low. I like that idea. We’ll see.

I just want to keep taking pictures, and I’m afraid I won’t do that if I don’t hold myself to some kind of plan. To make 2014 less of a…cluster…fuffle…than 2012, I’m going to post one (1) picture each day, instead of 75. Will each picture shatter the last? Will each photo be the definitive account of my day? Probably not. My life is even more redundant than a lot of people’s. But that’s okay.

Every week, maybe on Saturdays or something, I’m gonna try to round up other pictures I’ve taken throughout the week that I liked. Or whenever I’ve accumulated enough to make them worth sharing. That’s gonna be the more fluid, loosey goosey part of this blog.

Thanks for following me along on my journey still. If you’ve been wondering if I died or something, thank you for your concern. I’m here!

11 thoughts on “It’s December 29th. That is as good a day as any to start a project.

  1. Welcome back Sarah. It’s good to have a plan and a structure for your photography and blogging, so long as sticking to it doesn’t become a chore. The most important thing is to enjoy taking the photos and then enjoy the process of sharing them 😊

Leave a Reply

