Pictures I liked in 2013

I’ve been following Inga’s retrospective of her favorite photos from 2013. (Go check out the most recent post — they’re lovely.) Naturally, I thought “me, too.” I feel like I’ve barely been present this year (49 posts in 2013), but I want to look back, too.

I took about 20 minutes or so browsing the pictures I managed to actually share with you guys. Here are ten of my favorites. I didn’t think about it too hard. I don’t know what it is, but the winter pictures appeal to me more than others. Which is fun, because today is one of those days when my winter antipathy is reaching creative highs. Technical question, can you firebomb winter?

But let’s start when it was nice out:

IMG_3897

An abandoned farmstead I’m obsessed with. I submitted this picture to the Minnesota State Fair Fine Arts competition. They told me to scram. One day, State Fair. One day.

IMG_2529

I took this picture from a cemetery. Spoiler alert, this blog is actually written from a cemetery. It’s like that episode of the Twilight Zone. There was going to be a meteor shower that night, or something. There was a deadly sheen of ice on everything.

IMG_3428

The merry, merry spring time, and water droplets forming so prettily as they seem to do especially on daylily leaves.

IMG_1332partdeux

Cemetery trees

IMG_2357

Cemetery flower. Man, see? Cemeteries.

IMG_2370

Birch bark: the best bark.

IMG_1529

This was probably taken in my second-favorite kind of place, a ditch.

IMG_2945

I remember how happy I was to go on a walk that evening and finally start to see signs of spring.

IMAG3073

I took this picture on my phone cruising around town on my bike one night. There were so many mosquitoes.

IMG_3788

Another ditch picture.

23 thoughts on “Pictures I liked in 2013

  1. Thanks for the mention, Sarah! I appreciate it. As for your photos I of course love them all, but I have a soft spot for the light in no 9. Hope to see more from you in 2014. Happy New Year! 🙂

  2. Your photos are amazing! I love the colours. They are so warm and bright. Great! I like the first one with the farmstead. In Germany we don’t have such cool farmsteads. 🙂

  3. Ditches and cemeteries. LOL See? You leave for a long time yet none of us left, though you have been missed. You still have it, Sarah. Starting off 2014 with a bang, no less. Those are some outstanding captures. State Fair be damned. Happy New Year!

  4. Yes, you’ve been taking some fine pictures. I’ve enjoyed the trips out with you, cemeteries included. Looking forward to seeing more this new year.

    Jim

  5. I never knew you…left…Okay…I really enjoyed your selection from 2013 as well. You’ve got a nice eye. I especially love the spring new growth, a special favorite of mine no doubt, actually an obsession. 2 ft of snow, temps in the negatives but I am still dreaming of spring new growth. I love the detail you captured in that image.

    Your picture of the farmstead was pretty classic as well, I was sure your comment about the State Farm was going to finish with at least acceptance. Good job anyways.

    Thanks for sharing, while new to you and your site I look forward to sharing this year online with you!

    eLPy

    P.S. I spent my youngest years living next to a cemetery, it was quite a treat. 😉

    • Well, I didn’t leave so much as winnow my output down to about a sixth of what it was the first year I had this blog, then down to almost nothing the last three or four months. Lazy! 😛

      Winter and the transition into spring is definitely my favorite time to take pictures, and right now I’m absolutely with you on leaning towards the spring dreaming. Soon. Soon-ish.

      I’m gonna keep trying and trying with that State Fair panel. 🙂

      Thanks for all your nice comments, I’m glad you stumbled across my blog!

      PS. Growing up next to a cemetery? Yes, I think that would have been absolutely a formative experience for me. 😛 I mean, I was already drawing pictures of graves (morbid kid? I don’t know, I liked the shapes!).

Leave a Reply

