Week 2, extra pictures: Epiphany Cactus

I have a mini batch of photos to go along with my Christmapiphanybirthholidagiving cactus photo yesterday. I was going to save these extra photos for the weekend, but if I have my ducks in a row, I might as well share them near to when a related DESIGNATED PROJECT 365 picture was posted. I don’t want to share them in the same post as that photo, though, because that’s a slippery slope leading to posting 75 pictures every day and to my untimely death from vexation and the blue screen of death, which has flounced itself upon me twice today! Blagh!

IMG_5401

IMG_5344

IMG_5372

IMG_5361

12 thoughts on “Week 2, extra pictures: Epiphany Cactus

  1. Great photos Sarah. I really like seeing the textures and fine colors of plants up-close. There’s even more to appreciate than we already get to from a distance. And congrats on the blooming of whatever cactus that is! I’ve taken to Orchids more and more in the last few years. Unfortunately none of them are flowering at the moment but that doesn’t stop me from appreciating them!

    I love the sun in the backgrounds of these as well, helps to bring out the details even more. πŸ™‚

    • Ooh, orchids. That’s something I have no experience with but that’s an interesting world to be in, there’s just so many kinds. I have a bunch I wouldn’t do well with them. πŸ˜›

      Thank you! I love examining these flowers up close from all angles; very different experience than just looking at it straight-on.

  2. We call these a Zygo Cactus in Australia (or Christmas Cactus). When I see them, they remind me of my mother as she was a mad collector of these plants. Thanks :). I love the way you ‘pastellize’ your images. Beautiful.

    • I never heard that term before, “zygo” (I guess “Zygocactus” was the generic name they used to be grouped under?). I have plants that remind me of people in my family, too. πŸ™‚ Thanks, Brad!

Leave a Reply

