January 22nd – the rainbow menace

I watched Eraserhead for the first time the other day. I love David Lynch even though I’m usually too bewildered or disturbed or straight up nauseated by his movies to articulate how I feel about them, or revisit them, for that matter. But they stick with me. And one lingering affect is regarding banal objects with a strange unease and suspicion, like those damn radiators.

Maybe it’s cabin fever.

IMG_6164

This is just to say that today I took a picture of my nail polish. Sure their colorful rainbow butts are sticking out, but there’s something sinister about those shadows…. Is it just me? I don’t know. What’s that low thrumming I hear all the time now? Why is there duff piled all around my radiator? I don’t know, I gotta go check on my baby…thing. (They’re still not sure it is a baby!)

10 thoughts on “January 22nd – the rainbow menace

  1. This is pretty cool and creepy indeed. I really like the juxtaposition of the rainbow butts against their spooky tops. Are they threatening to brighten your day? Perhaps I’ll pay homage and paint my nails today…

    Cheers,
    eLPy

    • Thanks, eLPy! I can’t say what they’re actually threatening. Probably the most severe is wasting my time and then breaking my heart by chipping the day after I apply the polish. Life is tough, sigh.

      • I didn’t end up getting mine painted but that “chipping” threat is a promise! Maybe they’re watching you like a fashion panel, the do’s and don’ts of nail care.

        He he

  2. Love that shot! So cool and fascinating. And I totally agree with your feelings about those David Lynch movies. I haven’t seen Eraserhead though.

Leave a Reply

