Sweden, Part 1

One month ago I was still on vacation in beautiful Sweden. I think you all — yes, even you– should go there if you have a chance. Maybe not all at once. Don’t crowd them. Try some Swedish pizza–see what you think of it.

I took about 700 pictures during the ten-day trip. Not bad — I’ve taken half as many pictures of leaves in various states of decay in a single day inย my backyard. So, while I was excited to take pictures in a new(ish) place, I was there to relax with a very special Swede, and I only wanted to be taking pictures, like, 60% of the time, not 85%. 700 pictures is still a fair number, though.

It should surprise no one that most of the pictures are of landscapes and plants. A couple feature cats. (Well, one cat.) I will never stray far from my roots, even if I am over 3,000 miles away from my geographical ones.

This first set of pictures was taken one of the first days when I went on a little solo ramble about a nearby beach andย the forested path that butted up against it.

IMG_8383

1

IMG_8393

2

IMG_8402

3 – I like to think of this as a sweet throwback to my river wandering days in southern Minnesota (still in progress). Realistically, if I got this set of pictures mixed up with my other sets, I would never be able to tell that some of them were taken in Sweden. I had to consciously tear myself away from weird junk on trees and remind myself to take pictures of things I don’t get to see that much, like, you know, the ocean.

IMG_8403

4 – But I just really like wooded paths, so there are a lot of pictures like this.

IMG_8407

5 – A curiously dry swampy area with wild irises

IMG_8410

6 – One of the narrow paths leading from the woods to the beach

IMG_8413

7 – This is one of my favorite pictures from the trip.

IMG_8416

8 – Wild iris

IMG_8423

9 – Big, beautiful single roses in white and pink everywhere. They just love this scruffy landscape, I guess. They were on the beach, in the woods — everywhere.

IMG_8427

10 – Inside a rose

IMG_8430

11 – Rosy roses

IMG_8434

12 – Oh yeah, that’s what I came here for. We went swimming once the whole trip (weather was not permitting, but we did it anyway).

IMG_8440

13. I wasn’t lying when I said there were roses everywhere.

IMG_8442

14

IMG_8446

15. Looking across the water towards industry.

IMG_8448

16. Inside a white rose

IMG_8450

17. Unopened white rose bud is rosy pink

IMG_8457

18. It’s woodland…but it’s grassy…but there’s sand! How many more landscapes can this girl handle?

IMG_8459

19. A few nice, wizened old trees here and there

IMG_8460

20. I don’t know what this grass was, but I loved how its flowers looked. Like little chunks of oatmeal nodding to and fro. Mm, oatmeal flowers.

IMG_8464

21. Path o’ mystery

IMG_8468

22. Fern ‘n’ friends

IMG_8477

23. Why’s it so irresistible to take a picture of a path curving slightly, oh, why

21 thoughts on “Sweden, Part 1

Leave a Reply

