Sweden, Part 2

The next part of my Swedish adventure comprised a hike out to a pretty stretch of white sand beach and a walk in Trädgårdsföreningen, or the Garden Society of Gothenburg.

IMG_8369

1. This was our ultimate destination that day, a beautiful stretch of white beach. Unfortunately, a storm was racing us there. It did not quite beat us, however, and we were able to swim for about five minutes. Don’t mistake that for disappointment; I was just proud to get in the water again for a while because while I like to and can swim, I may or may not be terrified of the sea, the ocean, possibly even lakes. And ponds. I’m okay with puddles, though.

IMG_8329

2. Lichen. As my friend told me, it’s not a photo album of mine unless there’s some lichen.

IMG_8340

3. Wild lupine was everywhere

IMG_8341

4. See?

IMG_8343

5. Prince Bertil’s Path

IMG_8366

6. The tall rhododendrons blew this girl away.

IMG_8368

6

IMG_8327

7. Wild geranium everywhere

Now we’re going to Gothenburg (Göteborg). Everyone, hold onto your butts.

IMG_8523

8 – Inside a greenhouse

IMG_8524

9

IMG_8530

10

IMG_8531

11 – If seared flesh were a beautiful flower

IMG_8537

12 – I find the placement of the flower on this branch beguiling and wonderful. It’s like the tree is wearing a bracelet.

IMG_8543

13

IMG_8491

14 – More wild geraniums

IMG_8492

15 – Pretty damn Swedish, if you ask me. Not as Swedish as it gets, but pretty Swedish.

IMG_8498

16 – A more expansive view of the grounds at the Gothenburg Garden Society

IMG_8500

17 – The yellows popped on the cloudy day

IMG_8507

18 – Magnolia (?) and geraniums

IMG_8513

19 – Double columbine

IMG_8514

20 – Viburnum?

IMG_8518

21 – Redvein Enkianthus. I didn’t know what this was when I took the picture. I Googled “pink bell-shaped flower.” I figured it was in the same family as blueberries, and hey, guess what. I WAS RIGHT.

IMG_8519

22 – Some day I shall have such a nice mix of textures in the garden.

15 thoughts on “Sweden, Part 2

  1. Really like the fact that you put the name of the plant under the photo. And that those you don’t know you Google. Shows you love what you doing and want to learn more. And it is great that we can learn with you (even if the plant names are crazy hard to pronounce!)

Leave a Reply

